Moving of barangay, SK polls nears approval

first_img Senator Ralph Recto, however, expressed concern, saying the next round of barangay and SK poll still faces possibility of getting postponed again when the new President is elected by May 2022. “Six and half months or so is a short period and we’ll be pressed for time but they claimed they can do it without undue problems,” she added. The consensus at the House aligns with the Senate, which has approved at the committee level, Senate Bill No. 1043 seeking to postpone the 2020 BSKE to May 2023 instead./PN If ever the measure gets approved by the Congress and signed into law by President Rodrigo Duterte, the winning candidates will be proclaimed on Jan. 1, 2023 at 12 noon. Subsequent elections will happen every three years. “Upon prodding during the Comelec budget, as well as the consideration of the extension that is extensive, we have come up with a work program working backwards and it brought us to December 2022,” Marcos said. Senators approved on second reading Senate Bill No. 1043 seeking to postpone the barangay and SK elections from May 2020 to Dec. 5, 2022. The Senate approves on second reading the bill that would move the barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan elections from May 2020 to Dec. 2022. ABS-CBN News Senator Imee Marcos, the sponsor of the measure, has assured Recto that the Commission on Elections (Comelec) had already said that it wouldn’t be a problem for them. MANILA – The proposed postponement of barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) elections is one step closer from being approved at the Senate. The same measure, meanwhile, has been approved by the House of Representatives’ committee on suffrage and electoral reforms on Tuesday, committee chairperson Juliet Ferrer said. “The future president will come at Congress and ask again for the postponement of elections. Our initial fear will probably be even worse,” Recto said.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>